a 2 i m

Just Announced: Performers for the 2024 Libera Awards presented by Merlin

New York, NY (April 23, 2024) – Today, A2IM (The American Association of Independent Music, Inc.) has announced the line-up of performers for the 2024 Libera Awards presented by Merlin, to be hosted by New York City-based stand-up comedian and musician, Marcia Belsky.

In addition, Congressman Maxwell Alejandro Frost (D-FL) will be attending to support independent music, continuing his efforts with A2IM, following new legislation to create a federal grant program to support the work of emerging artists – the CREATE Art Act alongside Congressman Dan Kildee (D-MI), Congressman Greg Casar (D-TX), and Congresswoman Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez (D-NY). The ceremony is set to take place Monday, June 10 at the historic Gotham Hall in New York City.

This year’s performers include a diverse array of artists, including Grammy Award-Winner Christian McBride performing with his jazz quartet Christian McBride’s New Jawn (Mack Avenue Music Group), classical pianist Lara Downes (Pentatone), Latin artist Pachyman (ATO Records), rapper Kari Faux (drink sum wtr), hotly tipped NYC trio Fcukers, and rising pop rock artist LØLØ (Hopeless Records). Together, they will showcase a celebration of independent artists from around the globe, uniting various genres and voices. Several of this year’s performers are up for a Libera Award, as well.

“We are thrilled to showcase such a dynamic lineup at this year’s Libera Awards,” said Dr. Richard James Burgess, President and CEO of A2IM. “This year’s ceremony not only promises a powerful display of artistic diversity, and celebrates our industry leaders, but also highlights the ongoing advocacy efforts of A2IM. Congressman Maxwell Alejandro Frost’s attendance underscores the importance of supporting emerging independent artists.”

The 13th annual Libera Awards features 36 categories honoring the best in independent music. This year’s Libera Awards, presented by Merlin, features the addition of three new categories, including Best Record From Games and Interactive Media, Publisher of the Year and Distributor of the Year. This year, Louis Posen, Founder of Hopeless Records, will be presented with the Lifetime Achievement Award, recognizing his exceptional contributions, accomplishments, philanthropy, and outstanding leadership in the independent sector.

The ceremony brings together musical pioneers who continue to build on the rich legacy of musical independence for a night of performances, and a multi-genre celebration with leading nominated artists including Killer Mike, Mitski, Caroline Polachek, L’Rain and Wednesday. Full nominee list here.

Ticket prices for the 2024 Libera Awards will increase this Thursday, April 24.

About A2IM:
A2IM is a 501(c)(6) not-for-profit trade organization headquartered in New York City that exists to support and strengthen the independent recorded music sector. Membership currently includes a broad coalition of more than 700 Independently-owned American music labels. A2IM represents these independently owned small and medium-sized enterprises’ (SMEs) interests in the marketplace, in the media, on Capitol Hill, and as part of the global music community. In doing so, it supports a key segment of America’s creative class that represents America’s diverse musical cultural heritage. Billboard Magazine identified the Independent music label sector as 37.32 percent of the music industry’s U.S. recorded music sales market in 2016 based on copyright ownership, making Independent labels collectively the largest music industry sector.

Learn more about A2IM here.
For information about how to join our community, see here.