A2IM Board of Directors 2017 Election: Call for Interested Candidates

April 18, 2017

Per A2IM’s By-Laws, A2IM will be holding an election in May to fill Four (4) Board of Director seats. All senior management executives from A2IM Label Member companies are eligible to be nominated for election to an A2IM board seat. You may self-submit or nominate a senior staff member from your label or another A2IM member label for this election. Deadline for nominations is Friday, May 5th.
A2IM sincerely thanks the outgoing and current board members for giving so generously of their time and expertise in service to the organization and the independent community. 
Additional information can be found below. Please email patrick@a2im.org if you would like to run for a board seat or to nominate someone.


A2IM Board of Directors’ terms run for three years. Each board seat is term limited to one full three-year term. Any board member serving a full three-year term must sit out one year at the conclusion of her or his term before being eligible to run for election again. The A2IM board of directors meets in person or by teleconference 6 – 10x per year to review the agenda and progress of the organization, represent the membership at large, and assist in setting the priorities and direction for the organization. Each board member is encouraged to offer his or her expertise and opinions and to become involved in committees and projects supporting the efforts and growth of A2IM. The A2IM staff keeps the board informed of important developments as they arise and seeks guidance from the board in order to better serve the Independent music community.


There are four (4) expiring seats up for election this year. The expiring seats are currently held by Craig Balsam (Razor & Tie), Dave Hansen (Epitaph/ANTI-), Scott Robinson (Dualtone) and Tom Silverman (Tommy Boy). All four (4) A2IM board seats will be filled in May by an online vote, of the full A2IM label membership, in a private ballot with one (1) voter per label member company. The newly elected board members will serve terms, as described above, to begin on July 4, 2017.


  1. All Label Member companies in good standing are eligible to nominate a candidate.
  2. Forward nominations to A2IM Member Relations Manager, Patrick Ferrell, via e-mail at patrick@a2im.org.
  3. Include a short description of the nominee, the music label the nominee represents, and the priority issues the nominee will champion. You can submit yourself, a staff member, or nominate another A2IM member.
  4. Deadline for nominations: Friday, May 5th (9pm EDT.)
  5. A2IM staff will certify nominations by Friday, May 12th and election voting details and ballots will be circulated to each A2IM Label Member voter (the designated primary contact at each Label Member company.)


TAGS: A2IM A2IM Board of Directors board elections