A2IM Announces 2016 Board Of Directors Election Results

June 8, 2016

A2IM Announces 2016 Board Of Directors Election Results

Stephanie Alexa (ATO), Glenn Dicker (Yep Roc Music Group), Andrew Kautz (Big Machine), and Louis Posen (Hopeless Records) are A2IM’s newly elected officers for the 2016-2017 year.

NEW YORK, NY, June 8th, 2016 – Today, A2IM, the American Association of Independent Music, announces the results of their 2016 Board of Directors elections as voted by the A2IM label membership.

Newly elected A2IM Board of Directors (listed alphabetically)

Stephanie Alexa (Vice President, Finance and Licensing Administration, ATO)

Glenn Dicker (Founder, Yep Roc Music Group)

Andrew Kautz (COO, Big Machine)

Louis Posen (President/ Executive Director, Hopeless Records)

A2IM CEO Richard James Burgess said in a statement, “Once again we were honored with a dense field of highly-qualified candidates for our four open board positions. While this posed a difficult decision for our voters, I am thrilled with those chosen. A2IM is currently on the forefront of game-changing issues for labels, their artists and our industry at large. With the depth of experience and quality of expertise we are so fortunate to have on our board I am confident we will be able to meet all challenges and vigorously represent our growing Independent community’s interests.”

The Board was elected by A2IM’s membership of over 391 Independent music labels representing a diverse array of musical genres, geographic locations and label sizes. The newly elected members will each serve a three-year term on the Board of Directors.

A2IM also welcomes three representatives to the President’s Advisory Committee, as appointed by CEO Richard Burgess with approval from the Board. The Advisory Committee’s role is to lend their expertise to the organization while simultaneously increasing the Board’s diversity in terms of label size, geography, and genre.

Newly appointed members of the A2IM President’s Advisory Committee (listed alphabetically)

Alisa Coleman (COO, ABKO Music and Records)

Randy Chin (President, VP Records)

Amit Nerurkar (General Manager, Mass Appeal)


The new Board’s term will begin on July 4th, 2016 and the new Board and Advisory Committee and officers will officially be introduced during A2IM’s 11th Anniversary during Indie Week from June 13-16.

Quotes from the Incoming A2IM Board of Directors (listed alphabetically)

“I’m thrilled to be joining the A2IM Board of Directors. It’s a real honor. I look forward to contributing to the continued progress of our great indie community. “ – Stephanie Alexa, ATO.

“I am very excited to have been elected by the membership to serve for the first time.  The organization means so much to all of us and I look forward to working alongside such a solid crew in order to seek greater value for the independent community.” – Glenn Dicker, Yep Roc Music Group.

“A2IM has been invaluable to Big Machine as a resource and network of forward thinking companies all making a mark on our industry.  To be asked to work with such an esteemed group of our peers and serve the membership is an honor for our company.” – Andrew Kautz, Big Machine.

“I am so honored to be one of the representatives of such a large and diverse group of more then 350 amazing independent record labels. I look forward to continuing to work along side the other board members and the a2im staff who are some of the most experienced, talented and wise people in music. This is a very exciting time for independence where all levels of success and all opportunities should be achievable.” – Louis Posen, Hopeless Records.

A2IM’s staff, Board, and membership would like to thank all of the candidates who volunteered their time and effort to run for the Board.


Celebrating its 11th anniversary, A2IM is a 501(c)(6) not-for-profit trade organization headquartered in New York City representing a broad coalition of 391 Independently-owned American music labels. The organization represents these independently owned small and medium-sized enterprises’ (SMEs) interests in the marketplace, in the media, on Capitol Hill, and as part of the global music community. In doing so it supports a key segment of America’s creative class that represents America’s diverse musical cultural heritage. Billboard Magazine, using Nielsen SoundScan data, identified the Independent music label sector as 34.4 percent of the music industry’s U.S. recorded music sales market in 2015 based on copyright ownership, making Independent labels collectively the largest music industry segment.

The organization’s board of directors are composed of the following: Razor & Tie President Craig Balsam, Concord Music Group President Glen Barros, INgrooves General Manager Amy Dietz, Epitaph/Anti- General Manager Dave Hansen, Beggars Group Chairman Martin Mills, Hopeless Records Owner Louis Posen, Dualtone Music Group CEO/Co-Founder Scott Robinson, Kill Rock Stars Owner/President Portia Sabin, Adshare President Jim Selby, Tommy Boy Owner/CEO Thomas Silverman, and Secretly Group Co-Founder/Co-Owner Darius Van Arman. A2IM’s president’s advisory committee is Curb Records Vice President Taylor Childress, Red House Records Vice President Chris Frymire, and Innovative Leisure Co-Owner Nate Nelson.

TAGS: A2IM ATO Big Machine board Board of Directors Hopeless Records Yep Roc