a 2 i m

Independent Labels Dominated at 15th Annual Americana Music Awards!

The Americana Music Association’s 15h annual Honors and Awards Show was held in Nashville’s last night, and once again Independents dominated, taking home 4 out of the 6 awards. Congratulations to all of the winners!

2016 Americana Music Awards Winners

Album of the Year: Something More Than Free, Jason Isbell, produced by Dave Cobb (Thirty Tigers)

Emerging Artist of the Year: Margo Price (Third Man Records

Song of the Year: “24 Frames,” Jason Isbell (Thirty Tigers)

Instrumentalist of the Year: Sara Watkins (New West Records)

Additionally, majority of the Lifetime Achievement Award is/was an Independent Artist!

Lifetime Achievement Awards

Spirit of Americana / Free Speech in Music Award: Billy Bragg (Cooking Vinyl)

Lifetime Achievement Award, Trailblazer: Shawn Colvin (Concord Music Group)

Lifetime Achievement Award, Songwriting: William Bell (Concord Music Group)

Lifetime Achievement Award, WagonMaster: Jim Lauderdale

President’s Award: Woody Guthrie

About A2IM:
A2IM is a 501(c)(6) not-for-profit trade organization headquartered in New York City that exists to support and strengthen the independent recorded music sector. Membership currently includes a broad coalition of more than 700 Independently-owned American music labels. A2IM represents these independently owned small and medium-sized enterprises’ (SMEs) interests in the marketplace, in the media, on Capitol Hill, and as part of the global music community. In doing so, it supports a key segment of America’s creative class that represents America’s diverse musical cultural heritage. Billboard Magazine identified the Independent music label sector as 37.32 percent of the music industry’s U.S. recorded music sales market in 2016 based on copyright ownership, making Independent labels collectively the largest music industry sector.

Learn more about A2IM here.
For information about how to join our community, see here.