a 2 i m

A2IM Board of Directors 2016 Election: Call for Interested Candidates

Per A2IM’s By-Laws, A2IM will be holding an election in May to fill Four (4) Board of Director seats. All senior management executives from A2IM Label Member companies (that are in good standing) are eligible to be nominated for election to an A2IM board seat.  You may self-submit or nominate a senior staff member from your label or another A2IM member label for this election. DEADLINE FOR NOMINATIONS IS FRIDAY, APRIL 29th. Please email [email protected] if you would like to run for a board seat or to nominate someone.


A2IM Board of Directors’ terms run for three years.  Each board seat is term limited to one full three-year term.  Any board member serving a full three-year term must sit out one year at the conclusion of her or his term before being eligible to run for election again.  The A2IM board of directors meets in person or by teleconference 12x per year to review the agenda and progress of the organization, represent the membership at large, and assist in setting the priorities and direction for the organization. Each board member is encouraged to offer his or her expertise and opinions and to become involved in committees and projects supporting the efforts and growth of A2IM.  The A2IM staff keeps the board informed of important developments as they arise and seeks guidance from the board in order to better serve the Independent music community.


There are Four (4) expiring seats up for election this year. The expiring seats are currently held by Glen Barros (Concord Music Group), Louis Posen (Hopeless Records), Portia Sabin (Kill Rock Stars) and Jim Selby (Concord Music Group). All four (4) A2IM board seats will be filled  in early May by an online vote, of the full A2IM label membership, in a secret ballot with one (1) voter per label member company. The newly elected board members will serve terms, as described above, to begin on July 4, 2016.


1. All Label Member companies in good standing are eligible to nominate a candidate.

2. Forward nominations to A2IM Member Relations Manager, Patrick Ferrell, via e-mail at [email protected].

3. Include a short description of the nominee, the music label the nominee represents, and the priority issues the nominee will champion. You can submit yourself or nominate another A2IM member.

3- Deadline for nominations:  Friday, April 29th (9pm EDT.)

4. A2IM staff will certify nominations by Thursday, May 5th and election voting details and ballots will be circulated to each A2IM Label Member voter (the designated primary contact at each Label Member company.)

About A2IM:
A2IM is a 501(c)(6) not-for-profit trade organization headquartered in New York City that exists to support and strengthen the independent recorded music sector. Membership currently includes a broad coalition of more than 700 Independently-owned American music labels. A2IM represents these independently owned small and medium-sized enterprises’ (SMEs) interests in the marketplace, in the media, on Capitol Hill, and as part of the global music community. In doing so, it supports a key segment of America’s creative class that represents America’s diverse musical cultural heritage. Billboard Magazine identified the Independent music label sector as 37.32 percent of the music industry’s U.S. recorded music sales market in 2016 based on copyright ownership, making Independent labels collectively the largest music industry sector.

Learn more about A2IM here.
For information about how to join our community, see here.