A2IM Announces 2013 Board of Directors Election Results

Posted in News, Press Releases by A2IM

ShoreFire Logo

For Immediate Release
May 30, 2013

A2IM, the American Association of Independent Music, announces the results of their 2013 Board of Directors elections as voted by the A2IM label membership.

Newly elected A2IM Board of Directors (listed alphabetically):

- Glen Barros- President-Concord Music Group

- Richard Burgess- Director of Marketing and Sales- Smithsonian Folkways Recordings

- Portia Sabin- President-Kill Rock Stars

Re-Elected Board Member:

- Jim Selby, CEO Naxos USA

The board members were elected by A2IM’s membership of over 300 independent music labels, representing a diverse array of music genres, geographic locations and label sizes. The three newly elected members and re-elected board member will serve three-year terms on the Board of Directors. A2IM also welcomes three new representatives to the President’s Advisory Committee, appointed by President Rich Bengloff, with board approval, to assist and lend their expertise to the organization while at the same time increasing the board’s diversity and representativeness.

Newly appointed members of the A2IM President’s Advisory Committee (listed alphabetically):

- Josh Norek- VP, Business Affairs & Digital Relations of Nacional Records

- Cory Robbins- Owner and President, Robbins Entertainment

- Garry West- Co-owner, Compass Records Group

Additionally Alan Galbraith, GM of Wind-Up Records, has been designated as a member of the WIN Council and the A2IM WIN representative.

The new board’s term will begin on July 4, 2013 and the new board and advisory committee will officially be introduced during the organization’s 8th Anniversary Indie Week in NYC June 18-20.

Quotes from Incoming A2IM Board of Directors (listed alphabetically):

Glen Barros (President, Concord Records): “It’s great to be back on the A2IM Board.   These are exciting but challenging times for the independent music community.   I look forward to working with the great A2IM staff and Board members toward tackling these challenges.”

Richard James Burgess (Director of Marketing and Sales, Smithsonian Folkways Recordings): “A2IM has had a significant impact on the wellbeing of the independent sector. I am honored to be elected to the board and look forward to collaborating with such a great team to help continue the progress.”

Portia Sabin (President-Kill Rock Stars): “It’s an honor to return to the A2IM Board.  I look forward to helping with the work the Board is doing on issues important to labels in general, as well as the efforts they make to allow independent labels to remain competitive in the ever-changing music marketplace.”

Jim Selby (CEO Naxos USA): “It was an honor to be re-elected to the A2IM board where we watch out for all constituencies regardless of label musical genre, staff size/resources or geographic location, we represent the total independent music label community.”

The remainder of the organization’s board (all in the midst of three-year terms) is: Daptone Records General Manager Cathy Bauer; Yep Roc Records co-owner Tor Hansen; Alligator Records Founder/CEO Bruce Iglauer; The Beggars Group Founder/CEO Martin Mills; Glassnote Records General Manager Chris Scully; Dead Oceans/Jagjaguwar/Secretly Canadian Founder and Co-Owner Darius Van Arman; and Razor & Tie COO Victor Zaraya.

A2IM would like to express their gratitude to the three board members who, due to term limits, are stepping down at the end of the term: Eric Brown (SubPop), Dave Hansen (Epitaph) and Tom Silverman (Tommy Boy) and the advisory board members who, due to advisory committee term limits, are stepping down as well: Andrew Kautz (Big Machine Records), Denny Stilwell (Mack Avenue Records) and Ed Vetri (Wind-Up Records). We thank them all for their exemplary service to our community!

Quotes from Outgoing A2IM Board Members (listed alphabetically):

Eric Brown (SubPop): “Rich Bengloff and the A2IM staff have done a tremendous job raising the profile of the independent community over the last three years. I encourage A2IM members (and any independents who aren’t members yet!) to get as involved as possible with the work that A2IM does. It really is one of those rare organizations where the more you put in, the more you get out.”

Dave Hansen (Epitaph/Anti): “It has been a great honor to work with the A2IM board and staff for the past three years.  This is an amazing group of passionate people dedicated to making sure that the independent music community is represented as the shining star of the entire music industry.”

Tom Silverman (Tommy Boy): “When we launched A2IM eight years ago, I only dreamed that we would become this powerful and effective. Now I am entering my second interregnum and I am confident that our “all star” board along with Rich, Jim, and their amazing team will take us to an even better place by this time in 2014.”

A2IM’s staff, board, and membership would like to thank all of the candidates who volunteered their time and effort to run for the board.


Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Only logged in members can read and post comments